anon-C265 Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver The Birchmere 1979

Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
The Birchmere
Alexandria, VA
May 19, 1979

stream | mp3s | zip(mp3)

Source: Anonymous Collection Cassette#265: Maxell LN C-90:Nakamichi ZX7>Nickspicks Silver Hydra’s>Lunatec V3 @ 24/48>M-Audio Firewire 410 – Transfer by Keith Kreider 04/09/07

Side A – Disc One:
1. (Talking)
2. Rock Hearts
3. Come on Over
4. Just a Little Talk With Jesus
5. Thinking About You
6. Shenandoah Breakdown
7. Head Over Heels in Love With You
8. Daniel Prayed
9. One Way Track
10. Shady Grove
11. Think of What You’ve Done
12. A Touch of Pennsylvania
13. Brown County Breakdown

Side B – Disc Two:
1. God Put a Rainbow in the Clouds
2. On & On
3. Shuckin’ the Corn
4. Kentucky When I Die
5. I Wonder Where You Are Tonight
6. Red Apple Rag
7. Little Community Church
8. Don’t Cross the River
9. Only Time Can Tell
10. Mississippi Queen

Notes: Listed as “QuickSilver 1979-May-18,19 Birchmere Restaurant, Arlington VA” Anonymous Collection Cassette #265 features Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver performing at the Birchmere Restaurant, Alexandria, VA, May 19, 1979; Lawson is joined by Terry Baucom-banjo, Lou Reid-bass, & Jimmy Haley-guitar. According to Lawson, he formed Quicksilver in April 1979, so this is an extremely early recording of this long-running and highly celebrated group.

–Mitchell Wittenberg

Add Comment »
March 25th, 2009